Prairieville Township Home >
Prairieville Township was settled in 1866 by several members of a Danish group that also settled in Eden Township to the north. Reverend Andrew Johnson and Nels Alexandersen, settled in the north portion of Prairieville. The township organized in March 1870 at the house of Rasmus Nelson. Officers were Chairman G. N. Dayton, Supervisors Gustav Plath and Julius Krueger, Clerk J. F. Barton, Assessor C. H. Christensen, Treasurer John Liddell, Justices of the Peace C. H. Christensen and J. F. Barton, and Constables H. J. Knudson and Edwin Ricker. The township was named for the large expanse of open prairie land.
Christina and Thomas Foster